Institutional Biosafety Committee

The MSU Institutional Biosafety Committee acts as the institutional review body for all research activities involving the use of recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules as required and outlined in the National Institutes of Health Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules (NIH Guidelines). The primary charge of the IBC was to review the research proposals using the NIH Guidelines as a minimum standard. The purpose of the NIH Guidelines and the IBC review process was to provide researchers with guidance for conducting these studies in a manner that minimized exposure risk for research personnel and the environment at large. As a part of this review, the committee must determine if the Principal Investigator has set the appropriate biosafety level (BSL), evaluate the category of review, methods to be used in the research projects, training records for personnel involved, and other aspects of the project.

Over the years, the role of IBCs in the university setting has expanded to include areas such as research use of human and animal cells, infectious agents, select agents, and toxins. The role continues to increase as research evolves to include dual use, stem cells, and more complicated BSL-2 projects.

The MSU Institutional Biosafety Committee membership and mission has been revised to meet the changing needs of the MSU research community. In addition to recombinant DNA reviews, the committee may provide guidance and assistance on matters such as animal and plant research containment facilities, use of infectious agents, accreditation issues, and emergency response.

The IBC meets on a monthly basis to discuss and review current projects. These meetings are open to the public. If you would like to attend a meeting, contact the BSO.

Institutional Biosafety Committee Roster

IBC Roster
Name IBC Role Title Additional Info
Carrie Anglewicz Community Representative Member Biosafety Officer, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Laboratories Carrie’s focus is on enhancing laboratory safety in public health and clinical laboratories in Michigan with an emphasis on preparing for novel epidemics/pandemics. Carrie has also consulted with several university laboratories to prevent laboratory acquired infections.
Michael H. Bachmann Member Associate Professor, MSU Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Bio
Michael Brown Ex-Officio Member University Physician, MSU Bio
Elena Demireva IBC Chair Co-director of MSU’s Transgenic and Genome Editing Facility (TGEF) Bio
Kevin Eisenbeis Ex-Officio Member Director, MSU Environmental Health and Safety  
Sarah Godbehere Roosa Lab Representative Member, IBC Vice Chair Research Technologist II, MSU Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics   Sarah is a Research Technician in the Amalfitano lab where they study the host-vector innate and adaptive immune responses to adenovirus. They use adenovirus as a gene transfer vector in the development of vaccines for malaria and HIV as well as understanding the pathogenesis of ankylosing spondylitis.

Jonathan Hardy Member Associate Professor, MSU Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics Bio
Theresa Kelley Ex-Officio Member Senior Associate General Counsel, MSU Office of the General Counsel Bio
Judith Kloss Smith Community Representative Member Laboratory Scientist Specialist, Michigan Department of Community Health, Bureau of Laboratories Ms. Smith's responsibilities include leading the laboratories Health and Safety program in addition to serving as the Responsible Official for the Tier 1 Select Agent and Toxin Program. In this capacity she has oversight for the laboratories' biosafety, biosecurity, chemical and radiological safety.
András Komáromy Member Associate Professor, MSU Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences Bio
Laura McCabe Ex-Officio Member Assistant Vice President, MSU Office of Research Regulatory Support
David G. Morgan Member Director, MSU Alzheimer’s Alliance

MSU Foundation Professor of Translational Neuroscience
L. Karl Olson Member Associate Professor, MSU Department of Physiology Bio
Simon Petersen-Jones Member Professor, MSU Small Animal Clinical Sciences Myers-

Dunlap Endowed Chair in Canine Health  
Guo-qing Song Member Associate Professor, MSU Department of Horticulture Associate

Director, Plant Biotechnology Resource & Outreach Center
Alexa Veenema Member Associate Professor in Behavioral Neuroscience,
MSU Department of Psychology
Jamie Sue Willard Member MSU Biological Safety Officer

MSU Select Agent Responsible Official
Dr. Willard, in conjunction with other EHS Bioteam members, specializes in biosafety and biosecurity for the MSU campus at large. In terms of recombinant DNA research, she and her team review all registrations to determine adequacy of containment and other biosafety/biosecurity related concerns including training, inspections and exposure response.