Contact EHS

Office Locations

Main EHS Office
4000 Collins Road B20
Lansing MI 48910

Building access is restricted - if visiting, please call 517-355-0153.

Chemical Safety Office
Giltner Hall
293 Farm Lane Room 164
East Lansing MI 48824

Staff Listing

Administration

Kevin Eisenbeis, J.D.
Director
Office: 517-432-5275
Email: eisenb14@msu.edu

Lindsey Brownlee, CHRS
Office Manager
Contact for: billing, Kevin Eisenbeis calendar 
Office: 517-355-0106
Email: jameslin@msu.edu

Haley Smith
Office Coordinator
Office: 517-432-5088
Email: smithh84@msu.edu


Animal Handler & Lab Inspection Initiative

Amber Bitters, M.S.
Animal Handler Safety Officer
Contact for: controlled substances, occupational safety when working with animals
Office: 517-432-5262
Email: bitters1@msu.edu

Alessandra Hunt, Ph.D.
Safety Technologist
Office: 517-353-2443
Email: alehunt@msu.edu

Rebekah Mosci, MPH
Safety Technologist
Office: 517-353-2720
Email: sloupreb@msu.edu


Biological Safety

Jamie Willard-Smith, Ph.D.
Biosafety Officer
Contact for: mold, blood spills, all biosafety issues
Office: 517-353-1877
Email: cherryme@msu.edu

Kristen Bullard, BS, CLS, MT(ASCP)
Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: IBC registration, biological safety lab inspections, new researcher consultations
Office: 517-353-6710
Email: pennerkr@msu.edu

Rebecca Ceru-Jannausch
Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: Bio Engineering/IQ safety, autoclaves, biological safety lab inspections
Office: 517-432-5019
Email: cerurebe@msu.edu

Chris Colvin
Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: IBC registration, biological safety lab inspections
Office: 517-353-1281
Email: colvinch@msu.edu

Luis Alberto Ochoa Carrera
Senior Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: BSL-3/ABSL-3 facility safety, pandemic safety
Office: 517-353-2994
Email: OCHOACA1@MSU.EDU

Patti Pawski
Senior Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: bloodborne pathogens program, biosafety cabinets, biological safety clinic inspections
Office: 517-353-7857
Email: pawski@msu.edu

Stephanie Smith-Edwards, M.S.
Biosafety Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: vet med safety, vet med N-95 fit tests, vet med safety inspections
Office: 517-432-8787
Email: smiths32@msu.edu


Chemical Safety

Genevieve Cottrell
Chemical Safety Officer
Contact for: chemical spills, smells in labs, chemical safety issues
Office: 517-432-8715
Email: cottre36@msu.edu

Jared Andrews
Industrial Hygienist
Office: 517-355-6686
Email: andre190@msu.edu

David Erickson
Senior Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: laboratory ventilation/fume hoods, exposure monitoring
Office: 517-355-6545
Email: erickson@msu.edu

David Hurst, MPH
Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: Chemistry department safety issues, lab inspections
Office: 517-432-4328
Email: hurstda@msu.edu

Catharine Layman
Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: inspections
Office: 517-432-3066
Email: laymanca@msu.edu

Tyler McCord, MS 
Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: nanomaterial safety, 3D printer safety
Office: 517-432-5631 
Email: mccordty@msu.edu

Evelyn Uithoven, MPA
Industrial Hygienist
Contact for: undergraduate student safety
Office: 517-353-9502
Email: uithove1@msu.edu


Contractor Safety

Zach Hansmann, PhD, CSP, CHMM, ARM
Contractor Safety Manager
Contact for: construction safety, non-MSU employee safety
Office: 517-355-4094
Email: hansmann@msu.edu


Environmental

Tom Grover, CHMM
Environmental Compliance Officer
Office: 517-355-6651
Email: grovert@msu.edu

Tom Anderson
Incinerator Operator
Contact for: incinerator pickup/disposal
Office: 517-353-9188
Email: ander213@msu.edu

Mary Lindsey
Senior Environmental Coordinator
Contact for: stormwater
Office: 517-432-5542
Email: lindseym@msu.edu

Ben Stevens
Incinerator Operator
Contact for: incinerator pickup/disposal
Office: 517-353-9188
Email: steve662@msu.edu

Audrey Frost
Environmental Aide
Office: 517-355-0153


FRIB Safety

Petra Grivins, M.S.
NSCL/FRIB Safety Officer
Contact for: nscl/frib safety
Office: 517-908-7674
Email: grivins@frib.msu.edu

Ashley Bowen, MHRLR
Senior Health Physicist
Contact for: nscl/frib safety
Office: 517-908-7346
Email: feazelas@msu.edu

Becky DeZess-Smith, M.S.
Senior Health Physicist
Contact for: nscl/frib safety
Office: 517-908-7657
Email: dezess@frib.msu.edu

Malina Felten
Safety Technologist
Office: 517-908-7517
Email: feltenma@msu.edu


Grand Rapids Research Center

David Monsma
Grand Rapids Research Center Safety Manager
Contact for: GRRC lab safety and hazardous waste 
Location: 1101J GRRC
Office: 616-234-2777
Cell: 616-329-5306
Email: monsmad1@msu.edu


Hazardous Waste

Brian Smith
Hazardous Waste Coordinator
Contact for: laboratory waste consults, chemical cleanouts, chemical spills, waste disposal questions
Office: 517-432-4454
Email: smithb97@msu.edu

Kyle Corder
Hazardous Materials Professional
Contact for: waste pick ups, waste consults, chemical cleanouts, chemical spills, waste disposal questions
Office: 517-432-5097
Email: corderky@msu.edu

Stephanie Horn
Hazardous Materials Professional
Contact for: waste pick ups, waste consults, chemical cleanouts, chemical spills, waste disposal questions
Office: 517-432-2084
Email: smith293@msu.edu

Nick Huffman
Hazardous Materials Professional
Office: 517-884-0510
Email: huffma82@msu.edu

Steven Moret
Hazardous Materials Professional
Office: 517-353-1318
Email: moret@msu.edu

Travis VanWyck
Hazardous Materials Professional
Office: 517-432-5097 
Email: vanwyck2@msu.edu


Occupational Safety

Phil Weinstein, M.S., CSP
Occupational Safety Officer
Contact for: air quality, welding, lockout, noise, forktrucks, tractors, occupational injury
Office: 517-432-8043
Email: weinste5@msu.edu

Jamie Kracko
Safety Technologist
Office: 517-355-3879
Email: KRACKOJA@msu.edu

Melissa Millerick May, Ph.D.
Occupational Specialist
Contact for: IACMI safety
Office: 517-432-0707
Email: melissa.may@hc.msu.edu

Justin Stahl
Occupational Industrial Hygienist
Office: 517-432-5660
Email: stahlju1@msu.edu


Radiation Safety

Patrick Wright
Interim Radiation Safety Officer
Senior Health Physicist

Contact for: laser safety, training, bioassays, changes in use, general information
Office: 517-884-0539
Email: wrigh270@msu.edu

Alex Dawson
Health Physicist
Contact for: radioactive waste
Office: 517-355-6503
Email: dawson10@msu.edu

Anna Guernsey
Health Physicist
Contact for: surveys, calibrations, X-ray machines, postings 
Office: 517-432-5268
Email: guerns32@msu.edu

James Kidder
Safety Manager
Office: 517-355-6596
Cell: 616-299-7566
Email: kidderj@msu.edu

Jon Stieglitz
Health Physicist
Contact for: ordering, training, bioassays, and dosimeters 
Office: 517-884-0502
Email: stieglitz@msu.edu